Blend and Enjoy: Smoothies

I love smoothies because there are so many options to create a quick breakfast or snack. I use leafy green vegetables like fresh spinach, collards, swiss chard, kale, or lettuce. I also enjoy adding fresh seasonal fruit, ginger, and green superfood powder.

So replace that donut and coffee with something that will give you energy without the crash. Thinking about grabbing a bag of chips? Blend a vitamin packed smoothie instead.

Benefits:

*Increases your fruit and vegetable intake

*Clear skin

*Weight loss

*Energy

Ingredients for one of my favorite smoothies:

2-3 handfuls of fresh spinach

1 Banana, peeled

Half cup of fresh or frozen strawberries (or other seasonal fruit)

Half cup of water or soymilk

1 teaspoon of fresh chopped ginger

A few cubes of ice (if your fruit isn’t frozen)

Blend and enjoy!

Don’t throw away those over ripped bananas….Freeze them and toss them into a smoothie.

Great links:

Green Smoothie Girl

Green Smoothie Revolution

Green Smoothie Challenge

2 responses to “Blend and Enjoy: Smoothies

  • Jen Marshall Duncan (@jenmardunc)

    I am going to have to try this! I am sitting her finishing my coffee and now wishing I had spinach on hand to make this smoothie instead. I’m going to try it soon! I’ve bought the green Naked Juice before and it is delicious…but for some reason I’ve never thought about making it myself! Thanks for posting.

    • brownvegan

      You’re welcome! I like Naked too but I only get it occasionally because it’s so expensive. 🙂 You will love the newfound energy that comes from a green smoothie. 🙂 Thanks for the feedback.

Leave a Reply

